|DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA||enacted 1994|
|NEW HAMPSHIRE||enacted 1980|
|NEW JERSEY||enacted 1998|
|NEW MEXICO||enacted 1991|
|NEW YORK||enacted 1967|
|NORTH CAROLINA||enacted 1998|
|NORTH DAKOTA||enacted 1959|
|RHODE ISLAND||enacted 1979|
|SOUTH CAROLINA||enacted 1996|
|SOUTH DAKOTA||enacted 2005|
|WEST VIRGINIA||enacted 1997|
1916 – Ohio Massage Licensing
1996 – Alabama Massage licensing
1998 – Wisconsin Massage Licensing
2003 – Illinois creates massage licensing act – http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/publicacts/pubact92/acts/92-0860.html
March 2003 – Kentucky creates licensing act
June 10th, 2005 Governor Kenny Guinn signed a bill into law establishing regulation of the massage therapy profession in the state of Nevada. Nevada becomes the 36th state plus Washington DC to regulate massage therapy. This new law reflects 15 years of hard work by the AMTA Nevada Chapter and massage therapists throughout the state. The new massage therapy licensing law goes into effect July 1, 2007.
Click here to read the new massage therapy law
Tuesday, May 10, 2005 Governor Sonny Perdue signed into law the Georgia Massage Therapy Practice Act, making his state the 35th to regulate the massage therapy profession. This capped 22 years of effort by the AMTA Georgia Chapter and massage therapists throughout the state.
Click www.legis.state.ga.us/legis/2005_06/versions/sb110_AP_9.htm to read the new massage therapy practice act.
2007 – Indiana Governor Mitch Daniels signed Senate Bill 320, the massage therapy state certification bill, into law on May 9, 2007. The law takes effect on July 1, 2007. Indiana becomes the 38th state plus the District of Columbia to regulate the massage therapy profession. To view the law, please visit http://www.in.gov/legislative/bills/2007/SE/SE0320.1.html.
June 2, 2008 Colorado Governor Bill Ritter signed Senate Bill 08-219, a massage therapy registration bill into law, making his state the 39th to regulate the massage therapy profession. The law will take effect July 1, 2008 and require registration beginning April 1, 2009.
The law allows only a person registered by the state as a massage therapist to use the titles “massage therapist,” “registered massage therapist,” “massage practitioner,” “masseuse,” “masseur,” the letters “M.T.” or “R.M.T,” or any other generally accepted terms, letters or figures that indicate that the person is a massage therapist. The law also provides a definition of massage therapy scope of practice, an avenue for consumer complaints and preemption of local ordinances currently in effect.
Click here to read the new Colorado massage therapy registration law.