Alabama Massage Licensing
2777 Zelda Road Montgomery, AL 36106
(g) “Massage Therapist” is a person licensed under this Act who practices massage therapy or touch modalities upon a patron of either gender for compensation, working to alleviate pain, reduced stress, and instigate the normalization of the soft tissue, muscles, tendons, ligaments, and connective tissue of the patron. A massage therapist shall not be designated as a “massage parlor”employee.h) “Massage Therapy” is the profession in which the practitioner applies massage techniques and related touch therapy modalities with the intention of positively affecting the health and well being of the client as defined in the Act. Massage Therapy does not include diagnosis except to the extent of determining whether massage therapy is indicated. Massage Therapy may be applied in response to physician, osteopathic, chiropractic, podiatric, orother prescription by a licensed practitioner in that field acting within the scope of his or her profession.(i) “Native American Healer” is a person who can establish by information, contained on his or her birth certificate, by tribal records or by other reliable records, that he or she is an American Indian or Alaskan Native, having origins in any of the original peoples of North America, as definite in Code of Ala. 1975, Section 25-1-10, and who practices traditional healing techniques.
- Members of other professions acting within their scope of practice
- People massaging their family members.
- Visiting Massage Instructors
Member of the Massage Therapy Emergency Rescue Team (MERT) oranother nationally or internationally recognized disaster reliefassociation
- Native American Healers
(a) Graduation from an Alabama Massage Therapy School with aminimum of 650 hours; and (with specific course requirements)(b) Successful completion of a Board approved examination; and(c) Evidence of possession of a liability insurance policy of noless than $1 million.
532-X-3-.01 Massage Therapist Licensure Qualifications.
- 18 years of age
- must not have knowingly performed massage for money or engaged in prostitution
- complete application form and pay fee
- transcripts from approved schools
Transferring to Alabama: An applicant who is licensed or registered to practice massage therapy in another state or sovereign state and wishes to obtain licensure in Alabama must meet the minimum requirements set forth by the Board for licensure.
Submit Application and photos
Must display license in place of business.
Establishment License required.
Draping: “clean drape material for draping clients during the massage, use of which shall be explained to the client prior to the massage, and which shall cover the buttocks and genitals of a male client at all times during the massage, and which shall cover the buttocks, breasts, and genitals of a female client at all times during the massage.
Approved Massage Schools – Yes. List of Schools
Instructors must be licensed instructors except for CE Instructors
Student Clinic required.
- provide highest quality care
- provide only massage that they are qualified to provide
- informed consent: inform public of scope and limitations of their discipline
Acknowledge the limitations and contraindications of massage therapy and refer out when appropriate
- Respect licensed HCP’s
- Conduct business with integrity
- No discrimination
- Client’s right to privacy
- No sexual relations
- Clients can refuse service
- MT can refuse service
- Ensure comfort and privacy of clients
- Follow all rules/regulations : Act No. 96-661